fbpx

Beginning Watercolor

$42.00

Course Details

Classes in This Course: 6
Class Dates: Tuesdays, August 23, 30, September 6, 13, 20, and 27
Class Time: 4-5pm Eastern; 3-4pm Central; 2-3pm Mountain;  1-2pm Pacific
Teaching Artist: Karen Fitzgerald

All classes are recorded and available for registered participants to view on demand for at least 30 days after the final class in a course.

Availability: In stock

This basic watercolor course introduces working with fluid media. Foundational skills are supported and expanded through weekly painting exercises.

No prior experience required.

Materials for This Course

The items below include an item number and price from BLICK® Art Materials for easy reference, but you may use any art supply vendor you wish.

  • Yupo Paper
    Watercolor Paper, 10 Sheet Pad 11″ × 14″ Bright White 74 lb (200 gsm)
    Item Number: 10149-1005;  Price: $19.49
  • Watercolor Pencils
    set of 24, Koh-i-Nor
    Item Number: 22025-0249; Price: $31.36 or
    set of 12, Koh-iNor
    Item Number: 22025-0129;  Price: $22.10
  • Brushes, variety of sizes
    set of 4 brushes, Heritage, synthetic bristles
    Item Number: 05460-1014 5;  Price: $24.95
  • Tube Watercolor Paint
    Grumbacher set of 10 tubes
    Item Number: 00330-1029;  Price: $25.04
  • Watercolor Paper
    88 lb 12″ × 18″ 50 sheets
    Item Number: 09605-1126;  Price: $ 17.51
  • Color wheel (optional)
    Color Wheel 9-1/4″
    Item Number: 04915-1093;  Price: $6.59
  • Palettes (optional)
    Plastic Paint Trays, 2 packages of 10 (preferred)
    Item Number: 03090-1010;  Price: $16.09 or
    you can also use a plain white ceramic plate as a palette

Participants will

  • develop drawing and painting skills.
  • strengthen their drafting skills as well as their capacity to analyze visual information.
  • develop a deeper understanding of art practices and processes, utilizing visual resources.
  • develop a deeper understanding of composition, space on a 2-d plane, texture, value (light and dark), line, shape, color, and form.

Photo by Sarah Brown

close
blue inbox icon

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive course info, art-making ideas, and more from
PrimeLife Arts Learning.

We don’t spam! Read our terms of use and privacy policy for more info.