fbpx

Memory Jewelry: Reviving Treasures

$42.00

Course Details

Classes in Course: 6
Class Dates: Mondays, August 22, 29, September 12, 19, 26, and October 10
Class Time: 3-4pm Eastern, 2-3pm Central, 1-2pm Mountain, 12-1pm Pacific
Teaching Artist: Amy Wilderson

All classes are recorded and available for registered participants to view on demand for at least 30 days after the final class in a course.

Availability: In stock

In this course, you will learn the foundations of wirework jewelry to create a fabulous new piece of jewelry out of something once treasured.

Open to students of any experience level. Ideal for people new to the art form.

Course Materials
  • An item that you find interesting or special that you’ve held onto and are ready to make into a new piece of jewelry
  • Jewelry-making tools: round-nose pliers, chain-nose pliers, flat-nose pliers, wire cutters (flush)
  • Wire: 5 to 10 feet of 20-gauge colored copper practice wire
  • Beads: a 15-inch strand or a collection of your own beads
  • Sharpie® marker
  • Ruler
  • Safety glasses (optional, highly encouraged)
  • Soft polishing cloth (optional)
  • Beadboard (optional)
  • Clasps and ear wires will be discussed in class and can be purchased later if needed
Participants will
  • become familiar with and use jewelry-making tools.
  • learn the foundations of wirework jewelry: wraps, loops, links, attaching findings.
  • explore several jewelry design styles—linking, coiling, embellishments, headpins—and use them in their own design.
  • create a short “elevator pitch” and an extended narrative to describe their jewelry and share as part of the show and tell event at the end of the course.
  • be able to use their new skills to create jewelry on their own after taking this course.

Photo by Amy Wilderson

close
blue inbox icon

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive course info, art-making ideas, and more from
PrimeLife Arts Learning.

We don’t spam! Read our terms of use and privacy policy for more info.